Planting Sunshine Mimosa

I just finished planting 14 one gallon potted sunshine mimosa plants. These are a native Florida plant and are really fun. The leaves fold up when you touch them, and they have pretty purple flower that attract butterflies.

I first dug a hole, weeded around the hole a bit, and then planted the mimosa.

Then I placed a piece of cardboard with a hole cut in the middle around the plant and pulled all the pieces through.

Finally I put dirt or mulch around the plant to hold the cardboard down.

I also got 6 cubic feet of composted mulch free from the city, I had to pay $25 for delivery.  It’s hot inside the pile.  My son is having fun climbing on it. I’m going to have to buy a wheelbarrow ASAP. I’m collecting cardboard for sheet mulching. This means putting down a broken down box and then placing mulch on top of it.

Now the size of the project is beginning to intimidate me. And it’s the hottest time of the year. Oh well, gotta keep on keeping on. I know it will pay off.

Here is some more info on killing grass naturally:

http://helenaricketts.hubpages.com/hub/How-to-Kill-Grass-Without-Using-Chemicals

http://www.gardeningknowhow.com/problems/how-to-kill-grass-naturally-kill-unwanted-grass-in-your-yard.htm

http://www.ehow.com/how_5992525_kill-grass-cardboard-newspaper.html

Leave a Reply

